Ulrich Dessouassi

«He has spent his working life architecting digital solutions to the problems of producing and distributing compelling educational media content.»

Bio Notes

Blessed with a relentless curiosity and voracious appetite for tackling difficult challenges, Ulrich Dessouassi has spent his working life architecting digital solutions to the problems of producing and distributing compelling educational media content. For Ulrich, the more complex the challenge the better – as a key driver of innovation, source of growth, and pathway to personal and professional
satisfaction.

Trained initially as a civil engineer, he soon realized the structures he most desired to build were in the realm of software. In 2005 he completed a second degree, this time in software engineering, from the École Polytechnique de Montréal. As Directeur des produits numériques at GMTFO, Ulrich has augmented this combined training with strategic and tactical insights gleaned from leading the creation and development of innovative and transformative projects that have had a tremendous impact on the organization, as well as the entire industry.

Ulrich successfully launched GMTFO’s flagship digital learning platform Idéllo in 2015. Idéllo contains more than 11 000 digital resources (including video, applications, games, guides and educational material), curated and aligned with curriculum guidelines. It is the leading platform of its kind connecting educators, learners and their parents in Canada, and increasingly internationally.

More recently, Ulrich oversaw the development and launch of a blockchain prototype that heralds a potentially revolutionary new royalty model for content production and distribution in Canada. Currently, the prototype is being evaluated by relevant parties in market. If successful, it will transform how digital cultural productions are managed. A passionate strategic visionary, Ulrich revels in living dangerously when it comes to embracing disruptive technologies and their impacts on content creators and educational media consumers.

When not at the forefront of cutting edge digital media developments, he can often be found challenging opponents on the tennis court, taking in the latest cultural exhibit at museums and galleries, or indulging his lifelong love of reading. Perhaps heretically for one so committed to digital innovation, Ulrich confesses that for serious reading he still prefers a book.

Ulrich Dessouassi's Expertise

Digital solutions at 100%
Software engineering at 100%
Digital Learning Platforms at 100%
Technological innovation at 100%

More information on the strategic positioning of Groupe Média TFO

Our growing educational impact and further potential across Canada is equally compelling. As a provider of content for French-speaking minority communities and learning audiences from coast-to-coast-to-coast, Groupe Média TFO can become an enabling DIGITAL, EDUCATIONAL and FRANCOPHONE catalyst.

Ulrich Dessouassi

« Il a voué sa vie professionnelle à concevoir des solutions numériques aux problèmes de production et de distribution de contenu multimédia éducatif et captivant. »

Comme il a été béni d’une curiosité implacable et d’un appétit vorace pour les défis difficiles, Ulrich a voué sa vie professionnelle à concevoir des solutions numériques aux problèmes de production et de distribution de contenus multimédias éducatifs et captivants. Pour Ulrich, plus le défi est complexe, mieux c’est. À son avis, il s’agit du moteur principal de l’innovation, d’une source de croissance et d’une voie vers la satisfaction personnelle et professionnelle.

Il a d’abord suivi une formation d’ingénieur civil, mais il a rapidement constaté que les structures qu’il souhaitait véritablement bâtir faisaient partie du domaine des logiciels. Il a terminé une deuxième formation en 2005, obtenant un diplôme en génie logiciel de l’École polytechnique de Montréal. À titre de Directeur des produits numériques chez GMTFO, Ulrich a enrichi sa formation combinée avec des informations stratégiques et tactiques qu’il a acquises en dirigeant la création et le développement de projets innovateurs et transformateurs, produisant un impact considérable sur l’organisation et sur toute l’industrie.

En 2015, Ulrich a lancé avec succès IDÉLLO, la plate-forme d’apprentissage numérique phare de GMTFO. IDÉLLO contient plus de 11 000 ressources numériques (vidéos, applications, jeux, guides et produits pédagogiques), organisées et orientées sur les curriculums d’enseignement. Cette plateforme est chef de file en son genre. Elle relie les éducateurs, les apprenants et leurs parents partout au Canada et, de plus en plus, partout dans le monde.

Plus récemment, Ulrich a supervisé la mise au point et le lancement d’un prototype de technologie blockchain, précurseur d’un nouveau modèle de redevance potentiellement révolutionnaire pour la production et la distribution de contenus au Canada. Le prototype est en cours d’évaluation par les intervenants du marché. Si les essais sont concluants, il transformera la gestion des productions culturelles numériques. Ulrich est un visionnaire stratégique passionné qui aime vivre de manière dangereuse lorsqu’il s’agit d’adopter des technologies perturbatrices et lorsqu’il s’agit d’accueillir leur incidence sur les créateurs de contenu et les consommateurs de médias éducatifs.

Lorsqu’il ne gravite pas à la pointe des dernières avancées en matière de médias numériques, on peut souvent le retrouver affrontant des adversaires sur le court de tennis, assistant aux toutes dernières expositions culturelles des musées et des galeries d’art ou encore s’adonnant à son éternelle passion pour la lecture. Bien que cela puisse sembler être une hérésie pour une personne si attachée aux innovations numériques, Ulrich avoue que pour faire lecture sérieuse, il préfère encore et toujours un livre.