Michel Tremblay

«Passionate promotor of the richness and contribution of French language and culture in Canada.»

Bio Notes

Michel Tremblay is a strategic visionary and consummate deal maker operating at the most senior levels of the Canadian media landscape, whose greatest satisfaction derives from delivering value to the organizations he helps transform. In a career spanning 30 years in both the public and private sector, Michel has advanced an innovation agenda through keen foresight, his skill at creating opportunities, and a demonstrated ability to act decisively. He is a proven change-agent who relishes negotiating an expanded reach for GMTFO, and bringing it the attention and opportunity it richly deserves.

Michel obtained the Chartered Director designation from the Directors College (a joint enterprise of McMaster University and the Conference Board of Canada) and pursued his MBA at the École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) à Montréal, and the Université of Ottawa. He also holds a B.A. in Communications from Concordia University.

Michel began his career as a programming executive in the cable industry, and was in turn as Senior policy analyst for the Department of Canadian Heritage, and was Director of Television Policy at the CRTC. He served for almost a decade as Executive Vice-President of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters, before spending 14 years as Senior Vice-president, Corporate Planning and Business Partnerships at the CBC.

The appearance of the Sirius satellite radio streaming service shook up the North American media market, and Michel was integral in bringing the service to Canada. He negotiated an ownership deal for the CBC, as well as the subsequent Sirius merger with XM Radio and eventual public listing.

As Vice-President, Corporate strategies for Groupe Média TFO, Michel works closely with CEO Glenn O’Farrell and the senior leadership at the strategic enterprise level. Recently, he played a central role in obtaining GMTFO’s license renewal from the CRTC, and in securing a prestigious distribution agreement with PBS – one of the premier platforms for educational content globally. He is continuously developing inroads into new markets for GMTFO’s award-wining digital content internationally as well as with high profile partners here at home. He enjoys the nimble, dynamic and innovative organizational DNA that is GMTFO.

Michel is a passionate promotor of the richness and contribution of French language and culture in Canada. He is Chair of the Alliance Française de la Région de la Capitale Nationale, and is also a director of the non-profit Fondation Musicaction, which is devoted to the development and financing of the recording industry for French artists in Canada.

Michel is married, with family.

Michel Tremblay's Expertise

Strategic Management at 100%
Public policies at 100%
Development of affairs at 100%
Corporate governance at 100%

More information on the strategic positioning of Groupe Média TFO

Our growing educational impact and further potential across Canada is equally compelling. As a provider of content for French-speaking minority communities and learning audiences from coast-to-coast-to-coast, Groupe Média TFO can become an enabling DIGITAL, EDUCATIONAL and FRANCOPHONE catalyst.

Michel Tremblay

«Promoteur passionné de la richesse et de la contribution de la langue et de la culture françaises au Canada.»

Notes Biographiques

Michel Tremblay est un leader stratégique et un créateur d’opportunités d’affaires qui œuvre à l’échelon le plus élevé du paysage médiatique canadien, et dont la plus grande satisfaction est d’offrir de la valeur aux organisations quil transforme. Pendant ses 30 ans de carrière dans les secteurs public et privé, Michel a mis de l’avant un programme dinnovation grâce à une forte perspicacité, à son habileté à créer des opportunités et à une grande capacité à intervenir de façon décisive. Il est un agent du changement reconnu qui prend plaisir à promouvoir le rayonnement de GMTFO, et en lui apportant lattention et les possibilités quil mérite pleinement.

Michel a obtenu une désignation d’administrateur (C.Dir.) du Directors College (fondé conjointement par lUniversité McMaster et du Conference Board du Canada) et a poursuivi son MBA à lÉcole des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) à Montréal et à lUniversité dOttawa. Il détient également un baccalauréat en communications de lUniversité Concordia.

Michel a commencé sa carrière comme directeur de la programmation dans le secteur de la câblodistribution et a été à tour de rôle analyste principal des politiques au ministère du Patrimoine canadien et directeur de la politique de la télévision au CRTC. Il a occupé pendant presque une décennie le poste de vice-président principal à lAssociation canadienne des radiodiffuseurs, avant d’agir pendant 14 ans à titre de premier vice-président, Stratégie d’entreprise et Partenariats commerciaux à la SRC.

Lapparition du service de radio par satellite de Sirius a secoué le marché nord-américain des médias, et Michel a fait partie intégrante de l’importation du service au Canada. Il a négocié une entente de propriété pour la SRC, ainsi que la fusion ultérieure de Sirius avec XM Radio et une éventuelle cotation publique.

En tant que vice-président, Stratégies corporatives pour Groupe Média TFO, Michel travaille en étroite collaboration avec le président et chef de la direction Glenn OFarrell et les hauts dirigeants qui s’occupent de la stratégie au sein du Groupe. Récemment, il a joué un rôle central dans lobtention du renouvellement de licence du GMTFO auprès du CRTC ainsi que la signature d’une importante entente de distribution avec PBS, lune des principales plateformes pour le contenu éducatif à léchelle mondiale. Il développe continuellement de nouveaux marchés pour le contenu numérique primé du GMTFO à l’international, ainsi qu’avec des partenaires de premier plan ici au pays. Il apprécie lADN agile, dynamique et innovateur de lorganisation quest GMTFO.

Michel est un promoteur passionné de la richesse et de la contribution de la langue et de la culture françaises au Canada. Il est président de lAlliance Française de la Région de la Capitale Nationale et administrateur de la Fondation Musicaction, organisme à but non lucratif dédié au développement et au financement de lindustrie du disque pour les artistes francophones au Canada.

Michel est marié et père de famille.

Expertises de Michel Tremblay

Gestion stratégique à 100%
Politiques publiques à 100%
Développement des affaires à 100%
Gouvernance d'entreprise à 100%

Plus d'informations sur le positionnement stratégique de Groupe Média TFO

L’influence grandissante du Groupe Média TFO sur le plan de l’éducation et son potentiel dans tout le Canada sont tous deux irréfutables. Comme fournisseur de contenu pour les communautés francophones minoritaires et les publics apprenants de tout le Canada, le Groupe Média  TFO peut devenir un catalyseur NUMÉRIQUE, ÉDUCATIF et FRANCOPHONE.