Julie Caron

«Experienced educator and digital champion, driven by a passion to expand access to top-quality learning resources to French-speakers and their communities.»

Bio Notes

Since her earliest work in education 20 years ago serving children with special needs, Julie Caron has sought innovative and tangible ways to reach new learners. Initially it was using scissors and cardboard, then with graphic design, then pioneering applications of digital learning and student-centered technologies the university environment.

Today, Julie harness the power of digital content and distribution to serve pedagogic goals, improving learning outcomes by providing a uniformly outstanding digital experience to educators, teachers, students, and parents wherever they reside. She is an experienced educator and digital champion, driven by a passion to expand access to top-quality learning resources to French-speakers and their communities, helping to strengthen la Francophonie here in Ontario, Canada and abroad.

Born in Thurso, Quebec, a small community outside of Ottawa, she first worked with the Aylmer School Board before becoming Communications Officer at the University of Ottawa, where she truly discovered how dynamic is Ontario’s education community. Sensing the learning potential being created by developments in technologies and communications, including the impact of mobile computing, web-based and interactive learning, Julie then served as a coordinator of the university’ s Learning Resources Centre. She was a facilitator to faculty and students alike, providing insight and practical skills training in levering digital assets to promote better learning experiences, as well as managing the centre’s resources and staff.

In her role as Chief Digital Learning Officer, Julie guides Groupe Média TMFO’s digital learning strategy and outreach to Francophone and Francophile learning communities in Ontario and beyond. She oversees the recently launched flagship digital learning platform known as Idéllo, which contains more than 11 000 digital resources (including video, applications, games, guides and educational material), curated and aligned with curriculum guidelines. Committed to GM TFO’s role in strengthening language and culture, Julie welcomes the transformational opportunity to make Idéllo available to the estimated 2.7 million Francophone or Francophile families in Canada who don’t yet have access through their school boards.

Julie came to education initially from the world of health sciences, before undertaking university courses in Educational Technologies. She lives in Ottawa and has two daughters, 13 and 15. A lover and collector of children’s literature, she hopes one day to finish writing her first children’s book.

Julie Caron's Expertise

Education Technology at 100%
Digital Learning at 100%
Educational system at 100%
French first and second language at 100%

More information on the strategic positioning of Groupe Média TFO

Our growing educational impact and further potential across Canada is equally compelling. As a provider of content for French-speaking minority communities and learning audiences from coast-to-coast-to-coast, Groupe Média TFO can become an enabling DIGITAL, EDUCATIONAL and FRANCOPHONE catalyst.

Julie Caron

«Éducatrice d’expérience et ardente défenseure du numérique, motivée par sa passion d’élargir l’accès à des ressources d’apprentissage de grande qualité aux francophones et à leurs communautés.»

Notes Biographiques

Depuis ses tout débuts en éducation il y a 20 ans, alors qu’elle se dévouait aux enfants avec des besoins particuliers, Julie Caron cherche sans cesse à développer des façons innovantes et tangibles de rejoindre les nouveaux apprenants. Si au début, elle utilisait carton et ciseaux, elle est passée au design graphique, puis a été parmi les premières à concevoir des applications d’apprentissage numérique et des technologies plaçant l’étudiant au centre des préoccupations dans le monde universitaire.

Aujourd’hui, Julie exploite la puissance des contenus numériques et de leur distribution pour servir des visées pédagogiques, améliorant les résultats d’apprentissage en fournissant aux éducateurs, enseignants, étudiants et parents une expérience numérique exceptionnelle, et ce peu importe leur lieu de résidence. Elle est une éducatrice d’expérience et une ardente défenseure du numérique, motivée par sa passion d’élargir l’accès à des ressources d’apprentissage de grande qualité aux francophones et à leurs communautés, aidant ainsi à renforcer la Francophonie ici en Ontario, au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Native de Thurso, Québec, une petite communauté tout près d’Ottawa, elle a d’abord travaillé auprès de la Aylmer School Board avant de devenir agent de communication pour l’Université d’Ottawa, où elle a découvert pour la première fois à quel point le monde de l’éducation ontarien était dynamique. Pressentant le potentiel d’apprentissage qu’apporteraient les avancées en technologies et en communications, l’impact de l’informatique mobile et de l’apprentissage web et interactif inclus, Julie a ensuite fait ses classes comme Coordonnatrice du Centre de ressources de l’Université. Elle y a joué un rôle de facilitatrice pour le corps professoral et pour les étudiants, intégrant ses connaissances et sa large expérience pratique de l’utilisation des ressources numériques pour la promotion d’une meilleure expérience d’apprentissage, tout en ayant à sa charge les ressources et les employés du Centre.

Dans ses fonctions de Directrice principale, apprentissage numérique, Julie aiguille la stratégie d’apprentissage numérique du Groupe Média TFO, ainsi que les activités de rayonnement dans les communautés francophones et francophiles de l’Ontario et d’ailleurs. Elle supervise Idéllo, la plateforme vedette du Groupe pour l’apprentissage numérique, laquelle contient plus de 11000 ressources numériques (vidéos, applications, jeux, guides et matériel éducatif) soigneusement choisies et adaptées aux lignes directrices du programme éducatif. Convaincue du rôle du GMTFO dans le renforcement de la langue et de la culture, Julie accueille avec joie l’occasion révolutionnaire de rendre Idéllo disponible pour les quelques 2,7 millions de familles francophones ou francophiles canadiennes qui n’y ont pas encore accès via leur commission scolaire.

Julie est arrivée dans le monde de l’éducation à partir de l’univers des sciences de la santé, alors qu’elle s’est inscrite à des cours portant sur les technologies de l’éducation. Elle vit à Ottawa et a deux filles de 13 et 15 ans. Amoureuse et collectionneuse de littérature pour enfants, elle espère terminer l’écriture de son premier livre pour enfants.

Expertises de Julie Caron

Technologie de l'éducation à 100%
Apprentissage numérique à 100%
Système éducatif à 100%
Français langue première et seconde à 100%

Plus d'informations sur le positionnement stratégique de Groupe Média TFO

L’influence grandissante du Groupe Média TFO sur le plan de l’éducation et son potentiel dans tout le Canada sont tous deux irréfutables. Comme fournisseur de contenu pour les communautés francophones minoritaires et les publics apprenants de tout le Canada, le Groupe Média  TFO peut devenir un catalyseur NUMÉRIQUE, ÉDUCATIF et FRANCOPHONE.