Glenn O’Farrell

«Uses the power of new technology, creative partnerships and international reach to transform traditional broadcasters into relevant, influential, high-traffic global platforms.»

Bio Notes

GLENN O’FARRELL, ICD.D, is a digital-innovation-driving CEO in the Canadian media industry. Glenn doesnt think outside he thinks without a box. Glenn embraces the power and value of diversity. He uses new technology, creative partnerships and international reach to transform traditional media into relevant, influential, high-traffic global platforms. Glenn consistently challenges the status quo to improve and grow outcomes for stakeholders.

A native of St-Malachie, Québec, Glenn is a technology enthusiast, runner, amateur singer-songwriter and inveterate fan of the Montréal Canadiens. He studied economics, law, business and corporate governance at St. Francis Xavier University, Université Laval, Johnson School of Management, Cornell University, and at Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. Glenn is a member of the Québec Bar and Institute of Corporate Directors. He is currently enrolled in a Masters Certificate in Analytics for Leaders at the Schulich School of Business, York University. Glenn is a frequent keynote speaker, panelist and contributing thought leader on digital media in Canada, the U.S., Mexico, Europe, China and Africa.

Glenn is committed to strengthening the presence and impact of Canadian creative voices through media. He launched and led local and national media businesses in markets across Canada. As a P&L focused executive, he led business development activities across Canada and internationally, negotiated agreements with copyright collectives, major league sports rights owners and labour unions. Glenn served as CEO & chief Canadian broadcast industry spokesperson on behalf of private radio, television and specialty service companies before government and industry in Canada, and the U.S. In a rapidly consolidating media industry, he forged consensus-building solutions and advocated successful industry-wide regulatory strategies.

Glenn served as Vice-President, Réseau Pathonic TVA, Québec City; General Counsel, Chief Regulatory Officer, Senior Vice-President at CanWest Global, Toronto; President of Global Québec, Montréal, and President & CEO of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters, Ottawa.

In his current role as CEO of Groupe Média TFO, a public educational media enterprise located in Toronto, Glenn has led TFOs transformation from a declining, small-scale minority-language community broadcaster to become a leading international digital provider of French language educational content with an aggregate global audience of several hundred million across an array of innovative media platforms. Under his leadership, TFO developed and launched cathartic digital initiatives including, industry-leading, immersive virtual reality production studios to create new digital generations of educational content. In its dynamic new form,TFO has become an international educational content distributor/exporter through multiple new deals with video streaming services, including with PBS across the U.S. Throughout, Glenns overall strategy has focused on constantly breaking new ground in digital learning, in step with evolving media consumption patterns. As well as leading TFO as its CEO, Glenn has also served as Executive Producer of television series and award-winning educational digital content series.

Glenn has served on numerous company boards of directors as well as not-for-profit corporations including the Planning Board for a French-language University in Ontario, the Vanier Institute of the Family, TV5 Québec-Canada, Canal Savoir, the National Theatre School of Canada and Ashbury College, the Canadian Association of Broadcasters, the Fondation du Centre Hospitalier de l’Université Laval (CHUL), the Jeffrey Hale Foundation and the Théâtre du Bois-de-Coulonge,.

Glenn is married to Teri Kirk. They have two daughters, Devon and Morgan-Alexie.

Glenn O'Farrell's Achievements

INTERNATIONAL FORUM ON DIGITAL ECONOMY - YAOUNDÉ, CAMEROON

LECTURER - MAY 2017

Yaoundé’s forum highlights the significant economic and sociocultural impact of today’s digital world. Presented by a panel of renowned lecturers actively contributing to the digital development, the conference is an essential step towards the emergence of digital technologies in Cameroon.

China International Cartoon & Animation Festival (CICAF)

LECTURER - APRIL 2017

China organized its 13th International Cartoon Festival & Animation (CICAF) in 2017. The event was held in Hangzhou, China, from April 26 to 28 . More than 100 broadcasters, platforms, distributors and investors gathered around a common passion.

CULTURE AND DIGITAL FORUM - SHAWINIGAN, QUEBEC, CANADA

LECTURER - MARCH 2017

Shawinigan’s culture and digital forum is an opportunity for Québec’s cultural industry decision-makers and influencers to talk, among other things, about great challenges related to digital technologies and the impact on cultural businesses.

KIDSCREEN SUMMIT - MIAMI, FLORIDA, UNITED STATES

LECTURER - FEBRUARY 2017

Kidscreen is an annual event with more than 1 800 attendees who come together to explore new horizons regarding children’s entertainment. The industry’s most important decision-makers and influencers engage in a constructive dialogue through networking and by finding new ideas to propel their activities forward.

FINDING A WAY FORWARD: THE CHANGING WAYS CANADIANS GET THEIR NEWS - TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER - JANUARY 2017

This large-scale event gathers experts from the media industry to discuss «The changing ways Canadians gets their news».

FESTIVAL INTERNATIONAL DES PROGRAMMES AUDIOVISUELS - TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER - JANUARY 2017

The panel presented by the festival discusses educational platforms, especially «Matching new technologies to new educational requirements».

CARTOON CONNECTION - QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC, CANADA

LECTURER - 2014/2016

Created in 1990, Cartoon Forum is a unique event focused on pitching shortlisted television projects where animation producers can find cross-border partners and accelerate their financial arrangements.

LES TABLETTISTES - ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER 2012/2014/2015/2016/2017

Les Tablettistes is a space to explore and discuss the challenges and opportunities of today’s and tomorrow’s digital learning world. This single day bilingual conference gathers youths, experts, innovators and visionaries from the education, technologies and media fields to think about the future of digital learning.

INTERNATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM OF THE AMERICAS - TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER - SEPTEMBER 2016

The Toronto Global Forum is an International Economic Forum of the Americas conference bringing together heads of state, central bank governors, ministers and international economic decision-makers to promote discussion about national and international issues. The Forum also offers unique and exclusive business meeting opportunities to promote partnerships between big Canadian and international corporations.

FORUM D'AVIGNON - BORDEAUX, FRANCE

LECTURER - MARCH 2016

The Avignon Forum is an annual opportunity for cultural and creative professions to meet and talk around a laboratory of ideas serving culture and discuss with the financial and digital fields.

CONTENT INDUSTRY CONNECT CONFERENCE - TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER - MARCH 2016

Presented annually by Banff World Media Festival, the Content Industry Connect Conference is an exclusive market created to connect producers, broadcasters, distributors, content creators and the cinema, television, publicity and digital media industry leaders. The action packed day brings together key leaders within scenarios, reality, digital content, publicity and children entertainment.

CMPA PRIME TIME CONFERENCE - OTTAWA, ONTARIO, CANADA

LECTURER - FEBRUARY 2016

The CMPA’s Prime Time Conference in Ottawa is a national networking event aimed at approximately 600 of the most important business leaders in Canada from the cinema, television, interactive media, radio broadcasting and telecommunication industries.

Skills of Glenn O'Farrell

Glenn is renowned for its extensive experience in the media sector, the development and launch of new conventional and specialty programming services, the merger / integration of media companies, the establishment of sector-wide regulatory strategies And the development of strategic reorganizations.

Digital Media at 100%
Broadcasting and production at 100%
Television at 100%
Digital Innovation at 100%

More information on the strategic positioning of Groupe Média TFO

Our growing educational impact and further potential across Canada is equally compelling. As a provider of content for French-speaking minority communities and learning audiences from coast-to-coast-to-coast, Groupe Média TFO can become an enabling DIGITAL, EDUCATIONAL and FRANCOPHONE catalyst.

Glenn O’Farrell

«Il utilise les leviers que procurent les nouvelles technologies, les partenariats créatifs et le rayonnement international pour transformer les médias traditionnels en plateformes mondiales pertinentes, influentes et au trafic élevé.»

Notes Biographiques

GLENN O’FARRELL, ICD.D, est une force motrice de l’innovation numérique et un chef d’entreprise chevronné au sein de l’industrie canadienne des médias.

Créatif et audacieux, ses actions et leurs résultats sont distinctifs. Il utilise les leviers que procurent les nouvelles technologies, les partenariats créatifs et le rayonnement international pour transformer les médias traditionnels en plateformes mondiales pertinentes, influentes et au trafic élevé. Tenace, il bouleverse le statu quo pour optimiser les retombées pour les parties prenantes.

Originaire de St-Malachie, au Québec, Glenn est passionné de technologie, adepte de la course à pied, auteur-compositeur-interprète amateur de musique ainsi que fan invétéré des Canadiens de Montréal. Il a étudié l’économie, le droit, les affaires et la gouvernance d’entreprise à St. Francis Xavier University, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à l’Université Laval, à Québec, à la Johnson School of Management de Cornell University, à Ithaca, New York et à la Rotman School of Management de l’University of Toronto. Il est membre du Barreau du Québec, de l’Association du Barreau canadien et de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. Glenn tient souvent les rôles de conférencier principal et d’expert reconnu dans le domaine des médias numériques, et ce, au Canada et à l’international.

Glenn est un bâtisseur d’entreprise qui a mené des activités de développement des affaires au Canada et à l’étranger. Il a démarré et dirigé des entreprises médiatiques locales et nationales au Canada. Il a négocié des ententes avec des sociétés de droits d’auteur, des ligues de sports professionnelles et des centrales syndicales. Glenn a été le chef de file national et porte-parole principal de l’industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion pour le compte des entreprises de radiodiffusion, de télévision et de télévision spécialisée auprès du gouvernement et de l’industrie au Canada comme aux États-Unis. Il a fait adopter des solutions multi-sectorielles et des stratégies de réglementation adaptées à une industrie en voie de grande transformation. Glenn a été vice-président du Réseau Pathonic / TVA, à Québec; avocat général, chef de la réglementation, premier vice-président à CanWest Global, à Toronto; président de Global Québec, à Montréal, ainsi que président et chef de la direction de l’Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs, à Ottawa.

Dans son poste actuel de chef de la direction de Groupe Média TFO à Toronto, Glenn a mené cette entreprise médiatique publique à vocation éducative d’un état de déclin pour devenir l’un des principaux fournisseurs mondiaux de contenu éducatif en français, avec un public de plusieurs centaines de millions de personnes dans le monde. Présent maintenant sur une multitude de plateformes multimédias innovantes, c’est sous son leadership que TFO a conçu et lancé des studios de production de réalité virtuelle de pointe afin de créer de nouvelles générations numériques de contenu éducatif. Dans sa nouvelle formule dynamique, TFO fait maintenant la distribution et l’exportation internationale de contenu éducatif en français grâce à de nouvelles ententes, y compris avec PBS, partout aux États-Unis. Sa stratégie globale est axée sur l’innovation constante dans le domaine de l’apprentissage numérique, en plus de s’adapter aux habitudes de consommation médiatique en constante évolution. De plus, Glenn a été producteur exécutif de films, de séries télévisées et de séries à contenu numérique éducatif primées.

Il a siégé au sein de nombreux conseils d’administration, y compris ceux de l’Institut Vanier de la famille, de TV5 Québec–Canada, du Canal Savoir, de l’Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs, de la Fondation du Centre Hospitalier de l’Université Laval (CHUL), de la Fondation des Amis du Jeffrey Hale, du Théâtre du Bois de Coulonge, de l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada et du Collège Ashbury.

Glenn est marié à Teri Kirk. Ils ont deux filles, Devon et Morgan-Alexie.

Réalisations de Glenn O'Farrell

Forum International sur l'Économie Numérique- Yaoundé, Cameroun

Conférencier - Mai 2017

Le Forum de Yaoundé met en exergue l’impact économique et socioculturel considérable qu’a le numérique de nos jours. La conférence, présentée par un panel de grands noms qui contribuent activement à l’épanouissement du numérique, est une étape indispensable à l’émergence du numérique au Cameroun.

China International Cartoon & Animation Festival (CICAF) - Hangzhou, Zhejiang, Chine

Conférencier - Avril 2017

La Chine a organisé en 2017 son 13ème International Cartoon & Animation Festival (CICAF). Cet événement a eu lieu à Hangzhou, en Chine, du 26 au 28 avril. Plus de 100 radiodiffuseurs, plateformes, distributeurs et investisseurs se sont réunis autour d’une même passion.

Forum Culture et numérique - Shawinigan, Québec, Canada

Conférencier - Mars 2017

Le Forum Culture et numérique de Shawinigan est une occasion pour les décideurs et influenceurs de l’industrie culturelle québécoise de traiter, notamment, des grands enjeux et des impacts du numérique sur les entreprises culturelles.

Kidscreen Summit - Miami, Floride, États-Unis

Conférencier - Février 2017

Kidscreen est un événement annuel regroupant plus de 1800 participants autour de l’exploration de nouveaux horizons pour le divertissement destiné aux enfants. Les plus grands décideurs et influenceurs du milieu s’engagent dans un dialogue constructif en réseautant et en trouvant de nouvelles idées qui feront avancer leurs activités.

Finding A Way Forward: The Changing Ways Canadians Get Their News - Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier - Janvier 2017

Cet événement de grande envergure rassemble des experts du milieu des médias pour débattre sur le thème: «Les changements dans la consommation des Nouvelles par les Canadiens».

Festival International des Programmes Audiovisuels - Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier - Janvier 2017

Le panel présent au festival lance un échange autour du sujet portant sur les plateformes éducatives sous le thème: «Quelles nouvelles technologies pour quels besoins pédagogiques».

Cartoon Connection - Ville de Québec, Québec, Canada

Conférencier - 2014/2016

Créé en 1990, Cartoon Forum est un événement unique axé sur les sessions de pitching de projets télévisés présélectionnés, où les producteurs d’animation peuvent trouver des partenaires transfrontaliers et accélérer leurs arrangements financiers.

Les Tablettistes - Ontario, Canada

Conférencier 2012/2014/2015/2016/2017

Les Tablettistes se veut un lieu d’exploration et de débat sur les enjeux et les possibilités du monde de l’apprentissage numérique d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Cette conférence bilingue d’une journée rassemble des jeunes, des experts, des innovateurs et des visionnaires du monde de l’éducation, des technologies et des médias afin de réfléchir sur le futur de l’apprentissage numérique.

International Economic Forum of the Americas - Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier - Septembre 2016

Le Toronto Global Forum est une conférence du International Economic Forum of the Americas rassemblant chefs d’État, gouverneurs de banques centrales, ministres et décideurs économiques mondiaux pour favoriser le dialogue sur les questions nationales et mondiales. Le Forum offre également des opportunités uniques et exclusives de réunions d’affaires visant à promouvoir des partenariats entre les grandes entreprises canadiennes et internationales.

Forum d'Avignon - Bordeaux, France

Conférencier - Mars 2016

Le Forum d’Avignon est une occasion annuelle pour les métiers culturels et créatifs de se rencontrer et de s’exprimer autour d’un laboratoire d’idées au service de la culture, et ainsi de dialoguer avec le monde économique et numérique.

Content Industry Connect Conference - Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier - Mars 2016

Présenté annuellement par Banff World Media Festival, la Content Industry Connect Conference est un marché exclusif créé pour connecter les producteurs, les diffuseurs, les distributeurs, les créateurs de contenu et les dirigeants d’industries du cinéma, de la télévision, de la publicité et des médias numériques. Une journée pleine d’action qui regroupe des leaders clés dans les scénarios, la réalité, le numérique, la publicité et le divertissement pour enfants.

Conférence Prime Time de l'ACPM - Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier - Février 2016

La Conférence Prime Time à Ottawa de l’ACPM est un événement de réseautage national destiné à environ 600 chefs d’entreprise, les plus importants au Canada, issus des secteurs du cinéma, de la télévision, des médias interactifs, de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications.

Expertises de Glenn O’Farrell

Glenn est reconnu pour sa grande expérience dans le secteur des médias, le développement et le lancement de nouveaux services de programmation conventionnelle et spécialisée, la fusion / intégration d’entreprises de médias, la mise en place de stratégies réglementaires à l’échelle du secteur et la mise au point de réorganisations stratégiques.

Médias numériques à 100%
Diffusion et production à 100%
Télévision à 100%
Innovation numérique à 100%

Plus d'informations sur le positionnement stratégique de Groupe Média TFO

L’influence grandissante du Groupe Média TFO sur le plan de l’éducation et son potentiel dans tout le Canada sont tous deux irréfutables. Comme fournisseur de contenu pour les communautés francophones minoritaires et les publics apprenants de tout le Canada, le Groupe Média  TFO peut devenir un catalyseur NUMÉRIQUE, ÉDUCATIF et FRANCOPHONE.