Eric Minoli

«Serial innovator and disruptor, who combines the creativity and risk-taking of a digital media entrepreneur.»

Bio Notes

Eric Minoli is a serial innovator and disruptor, who combines the creativity and risk-taking of a digital media entrepreneur with the meticulous planning and organizational vision of a process engineer. For 20 years he has fearlessly pushed the limits of what is possible in the word of audio-visual production.

Eric built his first computer at the age of eight. By age 12 he had written every TV broadcaster in his native France looking to work as a cameraman. Undeterred, he turned to the theatre, learning production sound and lightening. He similarly challenged the French state education system to pursue the technical training he desired, eventually pursuing a DEC in broadcasting and graduating from the Université de Provence (France) and Université McGill (Canada).

Invited by the Alliance Française to install a computer system in their office in Hyderabad, India, Eric was recruited by the French Embassy and stayed for two years in India. Returning to France, he spent six years in increasing positions with Groupe Canal +, before leaving to establish its U.S. office in Miami.

After immigrating to Canada and joining the provincial public broadcaster TVOntario, Eric helped plan and implement the spin-off of French-language broadcaster TFO, precursor to Groupe Média TFO. In his role as VP Technologies and Optimization, he currently manages a team of 70 people responsible for all technical and production capabilities ( IT, web, studio, digital) as well as related work flow and process planning.

His relentless pursuit of new ways to lever technology to unleash GMTFO’s creative potential and maximize its production resources has vaulted it to the forefront of developments in the industry, despite its modest size. Eric has overseen GMTFO’s amazing transformation from a single minority language tv channel into an award-winning, multi-platform digital content and distribution network of premium French-language education content. He has overturned traditional broadcast practices, decentralizing post-production by installing Adobe Premiere editing packages on more than 60 laptops, which radically altered workflow and productivity.

Most recently, Eric’s disruptive influence has manifested in the creation of the Laboratoire dUnivers Virtuels ( LUV). The LUV is a radical and unique merger of existing green screen broadcast technology and industry-leading gaming engine software, which allows for live actors to interact with unlimited virtual sets and effects in real time. Conceived in April 2016, it was put in service only a few months later.

When not scouring the globe for technology partners on behalf of GMTFO, Eric travels widely with his husband. A natural gourmand, he is currently studying to become a maître fromagerthe equivalent of a sommelier in the world of cheese.

Eric Minoli's Achievements

SATIS - Paris, France - November 2018

LECTURER : BLOCKCHAIN AS AN ARCHITECTURE FOR AN INTEGRATED APPROACH TO INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

FIAT/IFTA MEDIA MANAGEMENT SEMINAR - Venice, Italy - October 2018

LECTURER : "Blockchain as an architecture for an integrated approach to intellectual property"

IBC - Amsterdam, Netherlands - September 2018

LECTURER: "Blockchain as an architecture for an integrated approach to intellectual property"

NAB - Las Vegas, Nevada, United-States - April 2018

LECTURER: "Bridging Gaming and Broadcast Technology in Virtual Sets"

SMPTE - Los Angeles, California, United-States - October 2017

LECTURER: "CASE STUDY - BRIDGING GAMING AND BROADCAST TECHNOLOGY FOR HIGH PRODUCTIVITY PRODUCTION"

Immersed - Toronto, Ontario, Canada - October 2017

LECTURER: "BRIDGING GAMING AND BROADCAST TECHNOLOGY IN VIRTUAL SETS"

Digital TV Europe 2017 - Content Innovation Awards 

FINALIST - Best New Venture

The Content Innovation Awards recognise innovation from content providers, distributors and technology companies that are helping transform today’s global television industry.

IBC 2017 - Innovation Awards

AWARD WINNER - Content Creation

Virtual Worlds Laboratory (LUV) is a one-of-a-kind incubator for a whole new generation of digital educational productions designed to excite learners in Ontario, in Canada, and beyond.

IBC 2017 - Innovation Awards

AWARD WINNER - Judges’ Prize

IABM 2017 - Game Changer Awards

FINALIST

Virtual Worlds Laboratory (LUV) is a one-of-a-kind incubator for a whole new generation of digital educational productions designed to excite learners in Ontario, in Canada, and beyond.

BIG INNOVATION AWARD 2017

KINDERGARTEN TO GRADE 12 LEADERSHIP AWARD 2016

AWARD WINNER

Ontario Research and Innovation Optical Network (ORION).

FIAT/IFTA MEDIA MANAGEMENT SEMINAR - Glagow, Scotland, United-Kingdom - MAY 2015

LECTURER

The International Federation of Television Archives has organized a seminar on media management. This event was created in partnership with the BBC and Strathclyde University.

Publication: “How we became a content factory” in Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part VIII] – Setting the standard in second generation MAM systems and metadata, FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Glasgow, may 2015.

NAB SHOW - LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, UNITED-STATES - APRIL 2015

LECTURER

The NAB Show is an annual exhibition organized at the Las Vegas Convention Center by the National Association of Broadcasters.

IBC CONFERENCE - AMSTERDAM, NETHERDLANDS - SEPTEMBER 2014

LECTURER

The International Broadcasting Convention is the world’s most important annual gathering for entertainment content creators, managers and news broadcasters.

IBC INNOVATION AWARDS 2014

IT BROADCAST WORKFLOW CONFERENCE - LONDON, ENGLAND, UNITED-KINGDOM - JULY 2013

LECTURER

In partnership with BAFTA (British Academy of Film and Television Arts), the IT Broadcast Workflow forum is an opportunity for broadcasting industry professionals to share ideas on ever-changing production techniques.

FIAT/IFTA MEDIA MANAGEMENT SEMINAR - TORONTO, ONTARIO, CANADA - MAY 2011

LECTURER

The FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar was organized to let international leaders express themselves on media management, innovative workflow and practical solutions that challenge the archiving and digital broadcasting community.

Publication: Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part V] – New challenges in the audiovisual archiving digital domain [Foreword by Éric Minoli], FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Toronto, may 2011.

FIAT/IFTA MEDIA MANAGEMENT SEMINAR - STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN - MAY 2009

LECTURER

In partnership with Sveriges Television, the FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar was organized to let international leaders express themselves on media management, innovative workflow and practical solutions that challenge the archiving and digital broadcasting community.

Publication: “Changing roles in a tapeless environment” in Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part IV] – Keeping your best content and metadata, FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Stockholm, may 2009.

Eric Minoli's Expertise

Broadcasting at 100%
Television at 100%
Digital Media at 100%
Video at 100%

More information on the strategic positioning of Groupe Média TFO

Our growing educational impact and further potential across Canada is equally compelling. As a provider of content for French-speaking minority communities and learning audiences from coast-to-coast-to-coast, Groupe Média TFO can become an enabling DIGITAL, EDUCATIONAL and FRANCOPHONE catalyst.

Éric Minoli

«Innovateur en série qui n’a pas peur de déranger, tout en sachant combiner la créativité et la prise de risque caractéristique dun entrepreneur de médias numériques.»

Notes Biographiques

Eric Minoli est un innovateur en série qui n’a pas peur de déranger, tout en sachant combiner la créativité et la prise de risque caractéristique dun entrepreneur de médias numériques avec la planification minutieuse et la vision organisationnelle dun ingénieur de procédés. Depuis 20 ans, il a audacieusement repoussé les limites de ce qui est possible dans le monde de la production audiovisuelle.

Eric a construit son premier ordinateur à lâge de huit ans. À lâge de 12 ans, il avait déjà contacté chaque radiodiffuseur de télévision de sa France natale pour leur dire qu’il désirait travailler comme caméraman. Sans se décourager, il se tourne alors vers le théâtre, apprenant la production sonore et l’éclairage. Il entame ensuite ses études dans le système éducatif français, bousculant les programmes établis afin de poursuivre la formation technique qu’il désire, puis il obtient un DEC en radiodiffusion ainsi que son diplôme de lUniversité de Provence (France) et de lUniversité McGill (Canada).

Invité par lAlliance Française afin dinstaller un système informatique dans ses bureaux à Hyderabad, en Inde, Eric a été recruté par lambassade de France et a passé deux ans en Inde. De retour en France, il a passé les six années suivantes dans des postes de responsabilité croissante avec Groupe Canal +, avant de quitter pour fonder son bureau américain à Miami.

Après avoir immigré au Canada et rejoint le radiodiffuseur public provincial TVOntario, Eric a aidé à planifier et à mettre sur pied la société dérivée du télédiffuseur de langue française TFO, précurseur du Groupe Média TFO. En tant que V.-P. Technologies et Optimisation, il gère actuellement une équipe de 70 personnes qui sont responsables de tous les aspects techniques et de production (TI, web, studio, numérique) ainsi que la gestion du flux de travail et de la planification des processus connexes.

Sa quête incessante de trouver de nouvelles façons de transformer la technologie pour libérer le potentiel créatif de GMTFO et de maximiser ses ressources de production a propulsé l’entreprise au premier plan de tous les développements de lindustrie, malgré sa taille modeste. Eric a supervisé la transformation étonnante de GMTFO, dune chaîne de télévision isolée de langue minoritaire en une multiplateforme de contenu numérique et de distribution de contenu éducatif de qualité en langue française. Il a bouleversé les pratiques traditionnelles de diffusion, décentralisant la postproduction en installant la suite de logiciels dédition dAdobe Premiere sur plus de 60 ordinateurs portables, ce qui a radicalement modifié le flux de travail et la productivité.

Plus récemment, linfluence iconoclaste dEric sest manifestée dans la création du Laboratoire dUnivers Virtuels (LUV). Le LUV est une fusion intégrale et unique de la technologie de diffusion existante du fond vert et de moteurs de jeu vidéo avant-gardistes, ce qui permet aux acteurs en chair et en os dinteragir avec des décors et effets virtuels illimités et en temps réel. Conçu en avril 2016, il na été mis en service que quelques mois plus tard.

Lorsquil ne parcourt pas le globe à la recherche de partenaires technologiques au nom de GMTFO, Eric voyage avec son mari. Un gourmand naturel, il étudie actuellement pour devenir un maître fromager, léquivalent dun sommelier dans le monde du fromage.

Réalisations d'Éric Minoli

IBC - Innovation Awards

FINALISTE - 2017

Initiative transformatrice du paysage médiatique canadien, le Laboratoire d’Univers Virtuels (LUV) est un incubateur unique d’une toute nouvelle génération de productions éducatives numériques conçues pour allumer les publics apprenants d’abord de l’Ontario, du Canada et du monde.

IABM - Game Changer Awards

Finaliste - 2017

Initiative transformatrice du paysage médiatique canadien, le Laboratoire d’Univers Virtuels (LUV) est un incubateur unique d’une toute nouvelle génération de productions éducatives numériques conçues pour allumer les publics apprenants d’abord de l’Ontario, du Canada et du monde.

BIG Innovation Award

Kindergarten to Grade 12 Leadership Award

Lauréat - 2016

Ontario Research and Innovation Optical Network (ORION)s.

IBC Innovation Awards

FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar - Glasgow, Écosse, Royaume-Uni

Conférencier - Mai 2015

La Fédération Internationale des Archives de Télévision a organisé un séminaire portant sur la gestion des médias. Cet événement a été fait en partenariat avec la BBC et l’Université de Strathclyde.

Publication: « How we became a content factory » in Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part VIII] – Setting the standard in second generation MAM systems and metadata, FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Glasgow, mai 2015.

NAB Show - Las Végas, Nevada, États-Unis

Conférencier - Avril 2015

Le NAB Show est un salon annuel organisé au Convention Center à Las Vegas et produit par l’Association nationale des radiodiffuseurs (National Association of Broadcasters).

Conférence IBC - Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

Conférencier - Septembre 2014

La International Broadcasting Convention est le rassemblement annuel le plus important aux yeux des professionnels de la création, de la gestion et de la diffusion de contenus de divertissement et de nouvelles dans le monde entier.

IT Broadcast Workflow Conference - Londres, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni

Conférencier - Juillet 2013

En partenariat avec la BAFTA (British Academy of Film and Television Arts), le Forum IT Broadcast Workflow est une occasion pour les professionnels de l’industrie de la diffusion de partager des idées sur les techniques de production qui sont en constante évolution.

FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar - Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Conférencier- Mai 2011

Le FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar a été organisé dans le but de laisser des leaders internationaux s’exprimer sur la gestion des médias sur les flux de travail innovants et les solutions pratiques auxquelles fait face la communauté de l’archivage et de la diffusion numérique.

Publication: Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part V] – New challenges in the audiovisual archiving digital domain [Préface d’Éric Minoli], FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Toronto, mai 2011.

FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar - Stockholm, Suède

Conférencier - Mai 2009

En partenariat avec la Sveriges Television, le FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar a été organisé dans le but de laisser des leaders internationaux s’exprimer sur la gestion des médias sur les flux de travail innovants et les solutions pratiques auxquelles fait face la communauté de l’archivage et de la diffusion numérique.

Publication: « Changing roles in a tapeless environment » in Changing sceneries, Changing roles [Part IV] – Keeping your best content and metadata, FIAT/IFTA Media Management Seminar, Stockholm, mai 2009.

Expertises d'Éric Minoli

Diffusion à 100%
Télévision à 100%
Médias numériques à 100%
Vidéo à 100%

Plus d'informations sur le positionnement stratégique de Groupe Média TFO

L’influence grandissante du Groupe Média TFO sur le plan de l’éducation et son potentiel dans tout le Canada sont tous deux irréfutables. Comme fournisseur de contenu pour les communautés francophones minoritaires et les publics apprenants de tout le Canada, le Groupe Média  TFO peut devenir un catalyseur NUMÉRIQUE, ÉDUCATIF et FRANCOPHONE.